Why I love my Boss LS-2

I had initially bought the Boss LS-2 to give me the option of switching between a few pedals on my pedal board. It didn’t last long there as as the board got bigger I needed more options and the Rocktron Patchmate replaced it (a fantastic curiously underhyped pedal switcher). However the LS-2 has continued to be a valuable part of my pedal collection. Here are some situations where I find it very useful.

4802_1_ver0

1. Patching in effects which cause a volume drop – pedals like the Boss TR-2, Dunlop Rotovibe and the EHX Small Stone have a volume drop when engaged. The LS-2 allows you to increase the volume of either of its two loops – this can be used to make up the lost output.

2. To run a stereo set up. The LS-2 works really well to power a two amp set up. There is no phase reversal switch and I’m sure at some point in the future I will run into phase issues but so far I haven’t had a problem. The different levels for each channel are again great for matching amp levels. Its a good idea to have the amps on the same power board to reduce the chances of ground loop noise.

3. Switching between the stereo outputs of my Epiphone Les Paul Ultra II. The A/B mode gives either pure Nanomag or pure Magnetic pickup tones. The A+B mode lets the two be mixed. The same applies to putting in as many as three guitars into the LS-2 and switching in between them. This could be useful at a show or while recording at home.

4. As a buffer. Like all Boss pedals the LS-2 has a built in buffer. It’s not the best buffer in the world but will get the job done.

5. As a power distributor. The LS-2 can supply power to other pedals with its power output jack.

6. As a kill switch. Set any loop on zero and the pedal becomes a mute pedal or a stutter box. There is no non-latching mode though so the stutter box use is limited.

7. As a silent tuner out. Put a tuner in any of the loops.

8. While bread boarding. Bread boarding is the process of testing electrical circuits for building things like guitar pedals. I put the test circuit into one loop of the LS-2 and this gives me a convenient on/off switch instead of having to actually bother with wiring in a switch into the circuit. Let’s me quickly compare my reference tone to the test circuit as well as the test circuit to any pedal I want.

9. Each channel gives you +20 dB of clean boost without coloring the sound. Two boost pedals in one.

10. One can theoretically even run three amps with A-B-Bypass option but a man has to know when to stop.

So a compact guitar pedal with 10 uses. Off the cuff. Without even going into its primary function of running separate pedals in the two loops. How many pedals can you say that about?

Leave a Reply

